Google has announced the plan to delete inactive accounts that have not been used for two years. The move is intended to increase platform transparency and user management efficiency. According to Google’s representatives, removing inactive accounts will help free up resources and increase user security.
This initiative by Google also seeks to reduce their servers’ and infrastructure’s unnecessary burden. In December, the new policy will be implemented.
If a Google Account has not been used or accessed for at least two years, it and its associated data in Google Workspace may be deleted. This may affect accounts and data in Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meetings, Calendar, YouTube, and Google Photos.