More Than 30 Sri Lankan Players in South Africa T20 League Auction

More Than 30 Sri Lankan Players in South Africa T20 League Auction

More Than 30 Sri Lankan Players in South Africa T20 League Auction

The South African Cricket Association has disclosed the list of players registered for the player auction of the SA20 (South Africa T20), a league cricket event scheduled to be staged in South Africa in 2023. More than 30 Sri Lankan players were included in the South Africa T20 League Auction.

There are already 533 participants from 18 nations, but no Pakistani players have registered for the auction. The auction of players is slated on September 19 in Cape Town.

South African players constitute 248 of the auction’s registered participants. More than one hundred English cricketers, fifty West Indian cricketers, and thirty Sri Lankan cricketers have signed.

25 Afghan players and 10 Zimbabwean players have reportedly submitted their names for sale. It is remarkable that players from the United States, Rwanda, Sweden, and Burma are also eager to compete in this competition.

Six teams compete in the event, all of which are owned by owners of clubs participating in the Indian Premier League cricket tournament. Consequently, Pakistani players’ participation in the South Africa 2020 league has become unclear.

East Islands’ Jayden Seals and Odion Smith have registered for the auction with a starting price of 1,750,000 South African Rand (Rs 3.6 crore).

Chamika Karunaratne, Eoin Morgan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Timal Mills, David Willey, and Jimmy Neesham have taken measures to register under the category with the second-highest base value of 1,700,000 rand (around Rs 3.5 crore).

Sri Lankan sportsmen Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Sasanka, and Pathum Nissanka have registered for the category for 850,000 rand (about 1.7 million rupees). Before the player auction, each team had previously made arrangements to acquire players. Sri Lankan fast bowler Mahish Thiekshana has signed a deal with the Johannesburg G Super Kings.


List of players bought before the South Africa T20 League Auction –

  • MI Cape Town: Kagiso Rabada, Rashid Khan, Sam Curran, Dewald Brevis, Liam Livingstone.
  • SunRisers Eastern Cape: Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman.
  • Paarl Royals: David Miller, Obed McCoy, Corbin Bosch, Jos Buttler.
  • Durban Super Giants: Quinton de Kock, Kyle Mayers, Prenelan Subrayen, Reece Toppley, Jason Holder.
  • Johannesburg Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Romario Shepherd, Gerald Coetzee, Maheesh Theekshana.
  • Pretoria Capitals: Anrich Nortje, Migael Pretorius.



Also Read: PTV Sports Live Streaming 2022

Follow Top and Trending on Google News and receive the latest alerts and the main news about apps, technology, beauty, entertainment, and all the top 10 related posts.

Scroll to Top