The New Common Eligibility Test - Important Points You Should Know

The New Common Eligibility Test – Important Points You Should Know!

The New Common Eligibility Test – Important Points You Should Know!

The government of India recently introduced a common prelims exam, Common Eligibility Test (CET) for the non-gazetted posts in the central government, that shall be implemented from the next year. It will be conducted in place of prelims exams for SSC, Railways, and Banking recruitment exams like ibps po.

This is a great move to centralize the process of recruitment for the candidates as well as the recruiting agencies. There shall be no need to fill different applications, pay separate fees, and appear for different exams.

As we all know that government jobs offer great perks like ALlowances and have a stable and growth-oriented salary structure just like the ibps po salary structure, this move by the government shall serve to give a lot of respite to the hard-working government job aspirants.


Responsible Agency for CET:

A new agency called the National Recruitment Agency (NRA) shall be set up as a nodal agency by the government for conducting the CET. Registration of applicants, generation of roll number/admit cards, display of marks, merit list, etc, will be done online and managed by NRA. NRA will also ensure better transparency and equal opportunities for all.


Languages/Medium of Exam:

In the beginning, the exam shall be conducted in 12 languages. Later, more languages may be incorporated


Score validity:

The CET score shall be valid for three years. A candidate can use his/her best score in an exam to appear for different mains level exams for 3 years. Candidates can use their best scores to apply for the main examinations of different departments and agencies.



The CET exam will be conducted twice every year. Every candidate would be allowed to appear for the exam twice a year.


Mode of Examination:

NRA will conduct the CET in an online center-based mode. Admit cards and other processes would remain similar to the current system.


Eligibility Criteria:

Eligibility criteria would be determined by the agency or department for which you apply. There will be no restriction on the number of attempts by a candidate, subject to the upper age limit stated in the notification.


Exams clubbed under CET:

All the prelims exams of Group B and C posts will be clubbed into CET. The National Recruitment Agency will replace the preliminary examinations of Group B and C posts conducted by:

➤ Staff Selection Commission (SSC)

➤ Railway Recruitment Board (RRB)

➤ Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS).


Test Centers:

As per the announcement, every district in India will have an examination center. There will be 117 aspirational districts. CET shall be conducted at 1,000 +centres. Candidates from remote areas would not need to travel large distances and can save up on traveling and lodging expenses.

Also, since the exam is one, there will be no need to travel and appear for different exams. Hence, it would save a lot of time and money. Women candidates, especially from rural areas, will greatly benefit from these provisions as they find it difficult to travel again and again from different examinations.


Mains Exam:

Mains examinations would be conducted separately by recruiting departments. The final CET score gives directions to the final selection for recruitment shall be made through specialized Tiers (Ex: II, III, IV ) of examination which shall be conducted by the respective recruitment agencies.

CET is a great move for the aspirants and will make their journeys smoother. They would be saved from the stress of appearing for different examinations and preparing differently each time.


Follow Top and Trending on Google News and receive the latest alerts and the main news about apps, technology, beauty, entertainment, and all the top 10 related posts.

Scroll to Top