PSL 2024 Local Player Categories Renewed

PSL 2024 Local Player Categories Renewed

In preparation for the forthcoming HBL Pakistan Super League 2024 (PSL 9), the local player categories were renewed with nine players.

Previously, the Pakistan Cricket Board also permitted foreign competitors to register. The flagship event is anticipated to take place between February 8 and March 24, 2024.

Both Iftikhar Ahmed and Naseem Shah, who are both members of the Quetta Gladiators, have received platinum upgrades from Diamond. Diamond has been assigned to Sarfraz Ahmed in place of gold.

Mohammad Haris, the wicketkeeper-batsman for the Peshawar Zalmi, has also been changed from gold to diamond. Salman Irshad, a pace bowler, has transitioned from silver to gold.

Ihsanullah and Abbas Afridi, both fast bowlers for the Multan Sultans, were promoted to the gold category after competing as emerging selections the previous season.

Additionally, wicketkeeper-batsman Azam Khan and pace all-rounder Faheem Ashraf of Islamabad United have been elevated from the gold to diamond categories. Mubasir Khan has progressed from emerging to gold, whereas Zeeshan Zamir has transitioned from emerging to silver.

Tayyab Tahir of the Karachi Kings has been elevated from silver to gold, whereas Qasim Akram has been elevated from emerging to gold. Kamran Ghulam and Zaman Khan of the Lahore Qalandars have been elevated from silver to gold and are emerging, respectively.

Certain individuals have been demoted. Mohammad Nawaz (Quetta, platinum to diamond), Mohammad Hasnain (Quetta, diamond to gold), Haider Ali (Karachi, platinum to gold), and Asif Ali (Islamabad, platinum to diamond) are among those who have undergone modifications.

Individuals who have made international appearances for Pakistan should not be demoted below the gold tier.

In order to participate in the category renewal procedure, franchise representatives were obligated to cast votes for each participant. While teams were not permitted to vote for their own athletes, they were permitted to submit review requests following this voting phase.

Director of International Cricket Usman Wahla, member of the national selection committee Tauseef Ahmad, and Manager of Partnerships Shoaib Khalid, who has been in charge of player procurement for HBL PSL since 2021, subsequently reviewed the list.

In determining the categories for local players, authorities took into account various factors such as domestic and national team performances, as well as the perceived value of the Twenty20 brand.

Relegation petitions for the players will now be submitted by the franchises prior to the finalization of retention decisions. Following the circulation of relegation requests, every team is afforded the chance to satisfy the criteria of the player’s base category.

The athlete may be demoted to a category lower than his base category if his base category is not matched.

In order to remain an Emerging player on a U23 squad for a period exceeding two years, they must have participated in no more than nine matches during that time period.

PSL 2024 Local Players Category Renewal

Islamabad United – Shadab Khan (Platinum), Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf (all Diamond), Sohaib Maqsood, Abrar Ahmed, Rumman Raees, Zafar Gohar, Mubasir Khan (all Gold), Zeeshan Zamir (Silver), Hassan Nawaz (Emerging).

Karachi Kings – Imad Wasim (Platinum), Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir (both Diamond), Haider Ali, Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan, Mir Hamza, Tayyab Tahir, Musa Khan, Qasim Akram (all Gold), Mohammad Ikhlaq, Mohammad Umar, Akif Javed (all Silver), Irfan Khan Niazi, Faisal Akram (both Emerging).

Lahore Qalandars – Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Fakhar Zaman (all Platinum), Hussain Talat, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Mirza Tahir Baig, Zaman Khan (all Gold), Dilbar Hussain, Ahmed Daniyal, Ahsan Bhatti, Jalat Khan (all Silver), Shawaiz Irfan (Emerging).

Multan Sultans – Mohammad Rizwan (Platinum), Shan Masood, Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir (all Diamond), Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah, Arafat Minhas, Shahnawaz Dahani, Anwar Ali (all Gold), Sameen Gul, Sarwar Afridi, Ammad Butt, Mohammad Ilyas (all Silver).

Peshawar Zalmi – Babar Azam (Platinum), Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Haris, Saim Ayub (all Diamond), Danish Aziz, Arshad Iqbal, Aamer Jamal, Salman Irshad, Usman Qadir, Harris Sohail, Sufyan Muqeem (all Gold), Khurram Shahzad (Silver), Haseebullah, Saad Masood (both Emerging).

Quetta Gladiators – Naseem Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed (both Platinum), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed (all Diamond), Mohammad Hasnain, Ahsan Ali, Umar Akmal, Omair Bin Yousuf, Saud Shakeel (all Gold), Bismillah Khan, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Zahid, Arshadullah (all Silver), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Aimal Khan, Yasir Khan, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay (all Emerging).

Also Read: PTV Sports Live Streaming

Follow Top and Trending on Google News and receive the latest alerts and the main news about apps, technology, beauty, entertainment, and all the top 10 related posts.